Öne Çıkanlar Cumhurbaşkanı Erdoğan Yıldız Tilbe DOĞAN BEKİN Ordu Milletvekili Ergün TAŞCI GAÜ Akademisyeni Prof. Dr. Ulvi Keser

UK sanctions five Russian banks and three high-net worth individuals

The UK is sanctioning five Russian banks and three wealthy individuals, freezing their UK assets and banning travel to Britain, Boris Johnson.

The prime minister told the House of Commons it was the “first tranche” of measures, in response to Russian troops moving into two separatist regions of Ukraine.

Russian TV showed Mr Putin signing a decree recognising two breakaway regions of Donetsk and Luhansk as independent – upping the ante in a crisis the West fears could unleash war in Europe.

Russian President Vladimir Putin is “plainly” breaking international law by recognising two breakaway pro-Russian separatist regions in Ukraine as independent entities, Johnson has said following the anncoument.

Saying Mr Putin’s latest move in was an “ill omen” and a “dark sign” that things are moving in the wrong direction, as the UK warned that a Russian invasion of Ukraine could be imminent.

After weeks of tensions and international mediation talks with Russia and Ukraine, western officials said they believed Mr Putin was now poised to invade as they said the military build-up continued.

Early on Tuesday in an address to the nation Volodymyr Zelensky, Ukraine’s president, said the actions of the Russian federation were a violation of the integrity and sovereignty of the territory Ukraine.

He said that Ukraine wants peace and supports a political and diplomatic settlement. “We are not afraid”, he declared, adding that his country is waiting for clear and effective steps of support from its international partners.

Russia’s ambassador to the UK was summoned to the Foreign Office on Tuesday morning.

International Reaction

The EU’s top officials also said the bloc will impose sanctions against those involved in Russia’s recognition of two separatist regions of eastern Ukraine.

With Germany halting the Nord Stream 2 gas pipeline from Russia after Moscow’s latest actions against Ukraine, chancellor Olaf Scholz has confirmed.

Turkey has slammed the Russian recognition of two breakaway territories in eastern Ukraine as “unacceptable,” announcing that it is taking its own measures as a Black Sea country.

US President Joe Biden “strongly condemned” Putin’s decision “to purportedly recognize the ‘independence’” of the eastern regions of Ukraine, the White House said.

Japan’s Prime Minister Fumio Kishida said  Russia’s actions violated “Ukraine’s sovereignty and territorial integrity and cannot be tolerated”.

India’s ambassador to the United Nations urged all sides to show “restraint” in the face of rising tensions.

Australia Prime Minister Scott Morrison slammed as “nonsense” Putin’s claims that the troops being sent into eastern Ukraine were peacekeepers.

Iran’s Foreign ministry spokesman Saeed Khatibzadeh called on all sides to resolve the issue through dialogue and refrain from engaging in any action that would increase tensions.

Adding: “Unfortunately, NATO interference and provocative moves led by the United States have made conditions in the region more complicated,”

“The current situation in Ukraine is a result of many complex factors,” China’s UN ambassador Zhang Jun told the UN Security Council in a neutral stand one of Russia’s closest allies called for calling for all parties to “avoid any action that may fuel tensions”.

The only country so far to show support has been Syria, foreign Minister Faisal Mekdad was quoted as saying that the government “will cooperate” with the self-proclaimed Donetsk People’s Republic (DPR) and Luhansk People’s Republic (LNR).

Yorum Gönder
Kalan Karakter:
Yorumunuz onaylanmak üzere yöneticiye iletilmiştir.×
Dikkat! Suç teşkil edecek, yasadışı, tehditkar, rahatsız edici, hakaret ve küfür içeren, aşağılayıcı, küçük düşürücü, kaba, müstehcen, ahlaka aykırı, kişilik haklarına zarar verici ya da benzeri niteliklerde içeriklerden doğan her türlü mali, hukuki, cezai, idari sorumluluk içeriği gönderen Üye/Üyeler’e aittir.